Reunion/Vacation/Homecoming

**This update was composed in mid-July but we goofed and never actually posted it. There is some important info in it so we still wanted to get it out there, so here it is, and sorry for the delay!**

 

Friends and Family,

After 5 long weeks and a number of flight delays, Hannah and I were finally reunited for week of vacation!

IMG_2235

A generous soul allowed us to stay at his condo on New Smyrna Beach for 5 days, and we enjoyed every moment. We were on the top floor of the building, and had a magnificent view. Sipping coffee and watching the sunrise was my favorite.

IMG_2250We roasted in the sun each day for a few hours, and Hannah had a hard time separating me from my boogie board. If I had someone there to teach me, I would’ve been surfing (it’s high on my ‘when we move to Florida list’).

Out of the restaurants we visited, The Garlic was by far our favorite. The food, the service, the neat-o indoor/outdoor atmosphere, all of it was wonderful. If you visit New Smyrna Beach, you must try this place.

IMG_2244

Hannah struggles with her decision.

Our week went by all too fast, and Hannah flew home on the 12th. I’ve been back to work at Good Shepherd, helping out with confirmation classes, preparing sermons, going on some hospital visitations, and — my favorite — spending time with different church members over meals, in swimming pools, and — yes, on water skis. This has actually been one of the most invaluable “field ed” experiences I’ve had. Two months has given me enough time to really connect to the congregation I’ll be working with, and to build relationships with our future family of faith. I must say, we have really connected well. I’ll be sad to go, but am all the more anxious to be among them again.

FullSizeRenderIMG_2292

Okay, yes. I have been playing a bit, but I promise I’ve been working too. Here’s a picture of our confirmation class on Sunday after they were all confirmed:

FullSizeRender1

And what an amazing bunch this has been. We’ve been so excited to see the Lord at work in the lives of his children. One piece of bad news is that we didn’t get the grants we applied for to refurbish a “discipleship center” for youth, but we are already brainstorming how we are going to make this ministry happen. The teenagers at the church are really looking forward to a ministry that is geared toward them specifically, to raise them up as disciples and leaders. (Though I won’t be a “youth pastor,” youth and young adult ministry will be one piece of my time as curate.) I’m eager to start work next year and be a part of what God is doing in their lives. Please pray for this ministry as it begins to take shape.

One week left and I’m flying back to Nashotah House to settle back in for my last year. Hannah and I are eager to be back together (for more than a week this time), and I am ready to take on this last year of rigorous seminary life. We thank you for continually holding us up in prayer as the Lord leads us on this journey. We love you all.

Leave a comment